Photographs and Adventures

Noosa Everglades & Elanda Point on Lake Cootharaba

Elanda Point on Lake Cootharaba is a camp ground and canoe-adventure business. We set up our camp right on the shore of the lake, well away from several school groups that were sharing the campground, although I have to say the kids were a pleasure and the only sound we heard from them was laughter.

The older school kids set off in canoes to camp up the Noosa River at Harry’s Hut. They carried everything they needed in their canoes. What a great adventure. I would have loved to do something like that when I was at school…

Amazingly, again I was awake early enough to take a couple of dawn photos, just before the sun came up.

It was so peaceful out there in the early morning light. You could see the mist rising off the still waters of the lake.

I took one last photo of our quiet cove, then crept back into my warm bed. I am not really an early morning person. When we did get up, we thought we would go for a paddle in the kayaks and stupidly, I decided not to take the camera with me, which was a mistake. We ended up going across the lake and up the river to the Noosa Everglades on the Upper Noosa River. It was absolutely beautiful, with unbelievable reflections on the still waters. On the way, we crossed another smaller lake that was filled with purple/blue water lilies. Again, it was absolutely stunning and I was so sorry not to have my camera. We arrived back at camp about four and a half hours later, pretty tired but happy to have done the trip.

The next morning, when we were enjoying a breakfast coffee under the trees, we looked up to see a couple of kangaroos bounding through the shallow water. They went off shore about a hundred metres, where they had a bit of a swim for several minutes before jumping their way back to shore. I have never seen anything like that before! I have seen kangaroos on the beach, but I didn’t know they enjoyed swimming!

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. I really like the 2nd last pic… and the last one is awesome! 😀 I witnessed kangaroos swimming last week… never would have believed it if I didn’t see it myself.

    September 14, 2012 at 8:01 am

  2. Thanks Ian. I should get up early more often….maybe. And yes! Who knew kangaroos could swim. They seem the wrong shape, somehow.

    September 14, 2012 at 8:52 am

  3. I like the Eucalpytus Trees with their reflection on the water and Roo’s jumping on water! 🙂 Awesome pics!
    Cindy

    October 12, 2012 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

