Photographs and Adventures

Lake Tinaroo

We had heard a little about Lake Tinaroo, so decided to go and check it out for ourselves. Once we were there it was hard to tear ourselves away again. We set up right on the edge of the lake, took the canoes off the roof of the car, organised some firewood, and we were set for a relaxing break.

The water is so calm that paddling around in the kayak was a real pleasure, and everything was so beautiful, that I stayed out a little too long and ended up with blisters!

The birdlife at Lake Tinaroo is amazing. I was so sorry that my bird identification book is sitting on the bookshelf at home and not with me as it should have been. I know these guys, however, because we have them at home on Phillip Island. This is part of a family of Purple Swamphens that brought their babies over to us every day, looking for crumbs or scraps of food. They are amazing parents, and always fed the babies before themselves.

This is one bird that certainly gets better looking when it grows up! The babies were most peculiar looking with their stumpy little wings and huge feet. But they were still so cute in an ugly kind of way.

There are kookaburras all over the place up here, and this one was not my friend. He swooped down and stole my piece of chicken right off my fork while we were eating our meal! It was chicken curry, so I hope it burnt his greedy little mouth!

This is one I definitely needed the bird book for. I think he might be a Rufous Night Heron, but then again, I could have just made that up. If you know, please tell me and I will amend this!

There were lots of waterlilies growing in the tranquil waters at the edge of the lake.

These water lilies looked kind of serene with the clouds reflected in the water.

How inviting does this look? We ended up staying longer than we planned, but eventually we started to run out of food so it was time to move on.

And at the end of each perfect day was another perfect evening…You can see the smoke from our campfire drifting across the trees in the photo.

This gnarled old tree has nothing to do with Lake Tinaroo, but I like it so I am putting it in anyway. This was taken at Emerald Creek Falls, near Mareeba.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. faz

    Beautiful pictures, I am amazed at how close you got to the birds!!

    September 4, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    • Thanks. I was lucky that there were lots of birds and they weren’t in a hurry to go anywhere. It’s amazing if you sit quietly, they seem to accept your presence. Thanks for looking!

      September 4, 2012 at 9:05 pm

  2. That tree is stunning… I must resist the urge to travel 1500 kms to take photos of a tree! 🙂

    September 5, 2012 at 7:54 am

    • Thanks Ian. You have some pretty amazing scenery down your way as well. I love your photos.

      September 5, 2012 at 8:23 am

Leave a Reply

